Achievement Awards Recognize Outstanding 2017-18 Students

by Susan Sullivan | Apr 24, 2018
Stephanie PurdyStephanie Purdy, who will graduate May 6 with a Bachelor of Science in Marketing and minors in French and global studies, was nominated for six awards and received five during the April 22 event. Purdy was also selected for a 2018 Orr Fellowship, a program that recruits top college seniors from both Indiana and Ohio. Intended to develop the next generation of business leaders and entrepreneurs, the fellowship includes full-time salaried jobs for two full years with innovative host companies. Through the program, Stephanie will work at Levementum, a Salesforce implementation, service, and support company.

Students, alumni, family members, friends, and faculty gathered in the Marian University Theatre Sunday, April 22 to recognize dozens of outstanding student accomplishments during the 2017-18 academic year.

The ceremony was part of the university's 42nd Annual Student Achievement Awards. More than 125 undergraduate and graduate students were honored for exceptional performance in academics, athletics, campus ministry, student life, and other categories with 63 awards and recognitions made. 

The event was followed by a reception in Alumni Hall. Music was provided by the university's saxophone quartet.

Academic Awards


Art Department Award of Excellence

  • Patrick Gordon

The Sister Dolorita Carper Award of Achievement in Art

  • Kristen Besinger

Outstanding Senior in Communication

  • Alyxakay Shields 

Outstanding Senior in English

  • Joseph Radcliffe

First-Year Writing Award: ENG 115

  • Logan Marsh

Goethe Institute Book Award for Students of German

  • Sloane Winders, freshman
  • Nicholas Evans, sophomore
  • Emily Neice, junior
  • Samuel Schwab, senior

Senior Award for Outstanding Achievement in Spanish

  • Mary Carper, major
  • Cass Lawson, minor

Senior Award for Outstanding Achievement in French

  • Stephanie Purdy

The Alliance Francaise d’Indianapolis Award for Outstanding Achievement in the Study of French

  • Stephanie Purdy

Sister Mary Carol Schroeder Memorial Award

  • Anna Fisher

The Sister Adele Zahn Award for Excellence in Humanities

  • Habenom Abebe
  • Sarah Meer
  • Thomas O'Neil
  • Nicholas Rivelli
  • John Smyth

Senior Award for Outstanding Achievement in Music

  • Joseph Barsanti

Joseph N. Hingtgen Distinguished Senior in Psychology Award

  • Rachel Bell

Theatre Department Senior Service Award

  • Claire Thompson

Theology Award

  • Thomas Sheridan

Philosophy Award

  • Nicholas Asher

The Senior Biology Recognition of Excellence Award

  • Bianca Stockmeier
  • Paige Swan

The Purichia Recognition of Excellence in Biology Award

  • Ruthann Gorrell
  • Sarah Hershberger

American Institute of Chemists Award

  • Morgan Stricker

The Sister Mary Rose Stockton Excellence in Chemistry Award

  • Kristen Buss
  • Nathan Dimmitt
  • Sarah Downing
  • Jenna Hedlund
  • Nicole Lisek
  • Marija Petrovic
  • Catherine Schmidt
  • Htoo Thu

Outstanding Achievement in Engineering

  • Zachary Deitch

Sigma Zeta Research Award Recipients

  • Luke Elsener
  • Ruthann Gorrell
  • Kegan Main
  • Bianca Stockmeier
  • Paige Swan
  • Aidan Washer


Financial Executives International Award

  • Bradley Sprinkle

Henry K. Engel Accounting and Finance Scholarship

  • Laurel Rathbun

Donald A. Fleming Family Accounting and Finance Scholarship

  • Madeline Kurcz

The Sister Laurita Kroger Award

  • Jayke White

Ken Elmendorf Outstanding Graduate in Business Administration

  • Stephanie Purdy

Ken A. Elmendorf Scholarship

  • Taylor Trepanier

Joseph P. Greenlee Accounting Endowed Scholarship

  • Nicholas Marroquin

Geraldine and Robert Decraene Scholarship

  • Solomone Smith
  • Alexander Wittenbaum

Becher Family Accounting Endowed Scholarship

  • Jeffrey Rhodes


Senior Award for Outstanding Achievement in Elementary Education

  • Katie Allen

Senior Award for Outstanding Achievement in Secondary Education

  • Claire Husting

Academic Achievement Award for Outstanding Student in Exceptional Needs Education

  • Gabriella Arnold

The Rosanne Pirtle Kindergarten Award

  • Ashley Ellington

Indiana Association of Colleges for Teacher Education Outstanding Future Educator Award for Elementary Education

  • Astynn Douglass

Indiana Association of Colleges for Teacher Education Outstanding Future Educator Award for Secondary Education

  • Anna Fisher

Academic Achievement Award for Service to English Language Learners

  • Alexandra Offutt

Master’s Award for Outstanding Achievement in Elementary Education

  • Cassie Stratton

Master’s Award for Outstanding Achievement in Secondary Education

  • Thomise Simpson

Master’s Award for Outstanding Achievement in Exceptional Needs Education

  • Zachary Roberts

Indiana Association of Colleges for Teacher Education Outstanding Future Educator Award Master’s Level

  • James McDermott


Nursing Academic Excellence Award: Accelerated Program

  • Sarah Kennedy

Nursing Academic Excellence Award: Accelerated Program

  • Kaila Hulls

Nursing Academic Award: St. Thomas Nashville

  • Anita Wells

Nursing Academic Excellence Award: St. Vincent Indianapolis

  • Amanda Becker

Nursing Leadership Award: Campus Program

  • Jacqueline Esparza

Nursing Leadership Award: Accelerated Online Program, St. Vincent Indianapolis

  • Lauren Pifer

Nursing Leadership Award: Accelerated Online Program, St. Thomas Nashville

  • Natalie Rathert


Outstanding Senior in Exercise Science

  • Michael Larew

Outstanding Senior in Sport Performance

  • Jordan Jackson

Co-Curricular Awards

Marian University Aspiring Leader Award

  • Oluwabanwo Adeniyi
  • KaLynn Terrell

Dean’s Award for Outstanding Leadership

  • Alexis Annee    
  • Kayla Bledsoe
  • Nancy Doll
  • Cori Lane
  • Stephanie Purdy
  • Luke Sartino
  • Paige Swan
  • Claire Thompson

Student Government Association Leadership Award

  • Samuel Winters

Resident Assistant Distinguished Service Award

  • Joshua Christian
  • Glen Robbins

Athletic Academic Awards

M-Club Senior Scholar-Athlete Awards

  • Julie Hoying
  • Luke Sartino
  • Alyxakay Shields
  • Samuel Winters

Campus Ministry Awards

Missionary Character Award

  • William Cross
  • Stephanie Purdy

Rich Worship Award

  • Charity Jamison
  • Thomas Sheridan

Education for Justice Award

  • Mary Carper
  • Victoria Yagodinski

Franciscan Values Award

  • Morgan Stricker

Diana and John Sweany Maid and Knight of Marian Memorial Spirit Award Nominees

  • Claire Thompson
  • David Diehl

Alumni Association Awards

Distinguished Senior Award

  • Rachel Bell



Leave a comment

News Media Contact

Mark Apple
Vice President of Marketing Communications
(317) 955-6775

Studying healthcare in Chile
Pre-med student builds cultural competencies and awareness.
Watch Htoo's story
Interning at Delta Faucet
Marketing experience gives insight into corporate America.
Watch Dominic's story
Coming home to Indy
Award-winning transfer student is glad she made the switch.
Read Rachel's story

© 2018 Marian University
Notice of Nondiscrimination
Marian University does not discriminate on the basis of race, ethnicity, color, sex, gender, gender identity, sexual orientation, religion, creed, national origin, age or disabilities in the selection of administrative personnel, faculty and staff, and students.
*Placement rates are gathered from data collected from graduates within six months of graduation.